Thank you Aqua Water and Co-Bank for your donation!

posted May 23, 2017, 3:40 PM by Fran Hunter

In January 2017, Aqua Water Corporation and CoBank donated $5,000 to the Smithville Education Foundation to be used for Innovative Teaching Grants and Enrichment Days programming.

In total, over $13,000 was donated to SEF from organizations like the Born Again Emporium, Doug's Plumbing, and many very generous individuals. More than $3,000 has been provided to teachers for items like wobble boards, chrome books, and Knighting ceremonies. The Enrichment Days program costs about $5,000 each year for instruction and materials that allow our youngest students to express themselves through visual and performing arts.  

We appreciate the people who support our kids.  Thank you for your continuing support!

SEF co-hosts Honors Banquet for Class of 2017

posted May 22, 2017, 6:27 PM by Fran Hunter

The students in the Top 10 Percent academically pose for a photo with the teacher who had the most influence on them. Former teacher Tony Quitta was unable to attend.
Smithville Education Foundation and Smithville Area 
Chamber of Commerce co-hosted the Honors Banquet for the Top 10 Percent of the Class of 2017 held May 16, 2017 at the First United Methodist Church Family Center.

Honored for their academic achievements were Valedictorian Caitlin Duty, Salutatorian Jamie King, Outstanding Male Michael Campbell, Outstanding Female Tobie Sherrill, and Allysha Page, Ashlee Guerrero, David Curtis, Elisabeth Ambrose, Emma Beckett, Gillian Marek, Lacey Cardwell and Matthew Skotnicki Jr.

As he was reading the accomplishments and plans of the students, David Edward named the contribution to and influence on each student by their favorite teacher, who were sitting at the student’s table as their special guest.

Teachers chosen were Shelly Naylor, Stewart Burns, Daryl Mason, Tony Quitta, Elena Schroeder, Cara Moore, Leona Jones, Sheila Del’Homme, Wayne King and Deana Seidel, Craig Wilmont and Mary Sides.

SEF president Nancy Towry, SISD Asst. Supt. Cheryl Burns, and Ana Murray, chair of the Education Committee of the chamber of commerce, spoke and congratulated the students and their parents.

John Chabot catered the event with a fajitas dinner.

Parents, city officials, school board trustees also attended.

1-2 of 2